Unlock or Lock a Plan

If a plan is locked, Facility Administrators cannot add ICS positions, rename current positions, change the chain of command The reporting structure that defines who supervises each ICS position., or create groups Comprised of accounts with certain shared characteristics, such as role or location, but not necesarily employer. within the labor pool and other contacts The internal and external people that participate in, might be affected by, or need to be notified about an incident.. However, they can still view all elements and change many other details of a locked plan such as the plan's description, the IRGs associated with a position, contact information for a position, a position's depth chart A list of qualified personnel who can fill an ICS position during an incident., and more.

Some plans are locked so no one can change the chain of command and ICS chart. Refer to About the Plan Summary for more information.

To lock or unlock a plan's chart

When the plan is created, it is locked by default.

  1. Point to Planning and click Plan Summary. The Summary for (facility/domain) page opens.

  2. Select the facility from Summary for drop-down list.

  3. Select the plan.

  4. On the left, select (plan name) Plan Summary. The right area shows general details about the plan and facilities in your domain.

  5. To unlock a plan for a facility, clear its Is Locked? checkbox.

  6. To lock a plan for a facility, select its Is Locked? checkbox.

  7. Click Save.

Related Concepts

Plan Summary